On Nica time - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Rebecca Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu On Nica time - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Rebecca Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu

On Nica time

Door: Rebecca

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rebecca

05 December 2011 | Nederland, 's-Gravenhage

It the middle of the night when I get out of my bed and open the curtains a bit. I stare outside and look at the small field of grass between the semi-high appartments. A half full moon and many many streetlights light up the grassy field and empty streets. Last nights weather forecast: strong coastal winds, rain and maybe hail for tomorrow…with temperatures around 7 degrees. No hail yet, but a strong wind makes the bare branches sweep wildly in the wind. The whole scenery makes me think of a Sinterklaas song we used to sing when we were young and I find myself scanning the rooftops in the distance…will he be out tonight or are weather condicions too bad to ride roofs and slide down chimneys? ;)
I should probably go back to bed, but am not tired at all. Bright awake I make my way to the kitchen and make myself a cup of tea, glancing at the clock ….it’s says 2…that means around 7 in the evening back in Nicaragua.

Yes, back in the Netherlands since Friday night. The plane may have arrived a bit later than sheduled,I am back in The Netherlands way earlier than I planned to and both body and mind are still on Nica-time. As most of you know I was planning to stay away till March…at least. Would I have stayed all that time at La Mariposa or would I have moved on? Helping in the kitchen or would i have chosen for other volunteerwork? Can not bes ure about that. I took it week by week. Future plan-making did not go more ‘future’ than the next meal or maybe the next day. But one day I did plan a bit ahead and changed my return date. I would have happily stayed longer abroad if not for the fact that my mother will undergo surgery next Monday. I expect the surgery to go well, but decided to pay a few months visit to assist her after the whole surgery and help my sisters here with taking care of our mom. My mom will donate a kidney to a friend of ours and eventhough she’s in good health and energetic as ever on the moment, I do think that she will need some time to recover from the procedure. And since I did not have fixed plans, but do have time and money and since I like to be there for my mom....I am in The Hague now. Am not sure when, but I am planning to go back to the other side of the ocean one day ( within the next year) and will for sure keep you informed.

Well, I will end this story and go bed to bed..try to sleep a bit. It’s almost half past 3 here, that makes it half past 8 in Nicaragua….almost bedtime if I were there as well. And then trying to wake up early tomorrow morning in order to fight the jet-leg and go back to this Dutch timezone. Vamos a ver.

A big hug for now and I wish you you all a very happy,healthy and great 2012. Buenas noches!
Rebs

  • 05 December 2011 - 06:07

    Sarai:

    Welcome home!!!

  • 05 December 2011 - 07:20

    Naomi:

    Hi Sweet Sister,

    Good to have you back for a bit and I will see you real soon!

    love, Naomi

    p.s did you manage to spot Sint and Piet before you went back to bed?

  • 05 December 2011 - 08:03

    Alma:

    Welcome back home and I wish all the best to you mother, I hope the operation will go without problems. It takes a lot of courage to do something like that. Stop by Jam daycare when you can, it would be great to see you!

  • 05 December 2011 - 18:00

    Sarah:

    Hola,
    leuk dat je goed bent aangekomen. Good luck met het fighten van je jetleg, ik mail je nog!

    liefs Sarah

  • 05 December 2011 - 18:47

    Hetty:

    Hi Rebecca,

    What a great donation your super mum is giving. And what a great love to have all her daughters ( only Ruth far, but in mind very close!) around. Hope you recover from Nica tima to Dutch time soon.....

    p.s. if you want to see us send me an email as our situation has changed since last night.

    filia xxxx

  • 23 December 2011 - 15:39

    Mariette Engels:

    hallo lieve Rebecca,
    sorry voor dit wel heel late antwoord! Ik vind het fantastisch dat je naar Nederland gekomen bent om je moeder te helpen om goed op te knappen! Heel vanzelfsprekend dat je veel aan Nica denkt!
    We keep in touch, wherever you are. Een heel fijn kerstfeest en al wat wenselijk is voor het nieuwe jaar, wens ik jou en allen die jou dierbaar zijn
    lieve groet,
    mariette

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, 's-Gravenhage

Rebecca

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 398
Totaal aantal bezoekers 46273

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Augustus 2015 - 26 Augustus 2016

On the road again

28 Juni 2011 - 02 December 2011

Central America, here I come

15 Oktober 2007 - 11 April 2008

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: