Where are you? - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Rebecca Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu Where are you? - Reisverslag uit 's-Gravenhage, Nederland van Rebecca Jansen - WaarBenJij.nu

Where are you?

Door: Rebecca

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rebecca

13 Juni 2012 | Nederland, 's-Gravenhage

People keep sending me messages with the question"Where are you now?" Even the webmaster of this website asked me that question, wondering why I did not post a new blog recently.

"Don't go grocery shopping when hungry" is a well known advise. And similar to me: "Don't write un update for your (travel)blog after a diffecult and emotional day at work". Nevertheless I found myself behind the laptop last week, writing about my days work. When I was half way through I realised that it wasn't fun to read.I could not post it, because it would not do the place I am working or the work I do any justice. You would all get the impression that working with the eldery and with the semi-eldery with dementia is all about losing and that everyday is a very sad one, but that isn't so. So I will try again, this time starting with something nice to write about.
I will start with a story about the disco we went to yesterday. In the morning I ran into a colleague from the 4th floor who invited the people from our floor to the disco that afternoon. People who know me well do know that I am not a great dancer and am not a big fan of discos at all, but in the line of duty and with the age of my dance partner in mind he and I went on our way. My dance partner, a German 60 something man with dementia carefully placed one foot for the other while walking through the corridor and into the elevator. When stepping onto the ward, the Rock and Roll music and colorful (lava)lights welcomed us. And there he went..clapping his hands, moving his body like a (slightly stiff) teenager and with a broad smile on his face. It was a beautiful sight and made us all laugh. Between every dance he needed to sit down or took a ususal restless walk up and down the corridor, while telling me about something he used to do when he was young. It was a great hour and made my day.. This friendly man can be very very sad at times. In those moments in which he remembers less nice things from when he was still young, tears really stream down his face. But yesterday, at least that hour, he was feeling great with happy thoughts, a great story and a body that coöperated just long enough to do a twist or two.

Back at our floor I ran into several people before I could go home...which is one of the reasons I am always later than planned. When a person takes your hand and starts talking about how they worry about their kids safety or about the day they realised their husband could not take care of them anymore at home..I cannot tell them: "Sorry my shift is over..see you tomorrow" That doesn't work for me, so most of the time I sit for a while and try to figure out what they're talking about or just sit with them till they feel better again.

Yesterday was a strange day..with laughter during dancing, but sad as well when I realised that one of the eldery people I take a liking to is about to die. Sat with her for a while, holding hands, hoping ( selfishly) that she would still be there the day after tomorrow. It's diffecult to let go, eventhough for some it is better to go.

Back to another more cheerfull story to end the blog for now. In my firts week at this old age home I joined a group of people to their weekly activity which was called Movements and Music. There I was introduced to a new sport..balloon tennis. With a bit of creativity and a piece of pipe thermal insulation they made nice soft harmless tennisrackets. A bright colored balloon replaced a small tennisball and they games could begin. It was so much fun and so I introduced this activity on our floor as well and now weekly we play this kind of tennis. We place wheelchair and normal chair in a cirkel and everybody (except activity counselors and volunteers who function as ball boys) is sitting in either a wheelchair or normal chair and then we start. Some gently pass the balloon to their neighbour, while other obviously missed the opportunity to become a professional tennis player and hit the balloon with force. It is a nice activity and even the people who can hardly move a muscle, let alone hold a racket and hit a ball, participate. They follow the balloon with their eyes and when it is within their reach they might make a movement, with fingertips, their head or a foot. It is a easy game, but fun. Last week this old lady of 92, who at times sleeps a lot during the day, participated in the game. She was so much fun and being so over the top dramatic that all the others had to laugh as well. She herself had tears in her eyes and had to stop for a second to catch her breath. It was fun and these moments really make my day.

Well, again a long story without mentioning future plans that include new travels. Shall keep those for next time...am busy making plans, but no fixed plans yet.

Hope you are all well and since it is almost summer and people will go on vacation i wish you a nice summer and a great holiday. Safe travels and keep in touch. Vayas bien,
Rebecca

  • 13 Juni 2012 - 09:10

    Sarai:

    Yet again a beautiful story, from my beautifaul sweet sister, who does not need to travel, to take on to an adventure. I admire your strenght, patience and I love you. Love Sarai

  • 13 Juni 2012 - 09:31

    Alma:

    Dear Rebecca,
    keep up the good work. It's not easy to care for the elderly, but I am sure you'll find gratification in small things everyday. Hope you'll have more happy moments overthere. Take care, Alma

  • 13 Juni 2012 - 09:53

    Naomi:

    Love you and I'm so happy for all the people who get to spend either a long or a short time of their life with you! You're simply amazing, sweet Rebs!

  • 13 Juni 2012 - 18:41

    Joke:

    hallo Rebecca, Even snel in het nederlands; dat gaat wat nu iets sneller. Dank voor jouw uitgebreide ervaringsverslag over het werk dat je nu doet. Wat fijn om te lezen dat je er met je hart werkt; is erg belangrijk voor ieder, maar vooral voor deze toch wel hele kwetsbare mensen. Het roept herinneringen op aan mijn werk in de verpleging en verpleeghuizen. Rebecca, veel succes gewenst met je werk. Ik ben ook erg benieuwd waar de volgende reis je brengt en wanneer. Let's keep in touch.
    groetjes,
    Joke

  • 13 Juni 2012 - 19:41

    Henny:

    Hi dearest Rebecca, since I have been on your ward and seen the people you are working for, I admire you even more!
    Keep up the good spirit. Big hug Henny

  • 14 Juni 2012 - 15:26

    Ruth:

    Hey sister,

    Thanks for your beautiful story. The people there are lucky having a person like you around. It's sound like a difficult but nice job. Well done. Love ya to bits and we will talk soon in real life.
    Hasta la vista sandinista :)

  • 17 Juni 2012 - 13:34

    Sarah:

    lieve Rebs,
    gracias por tu verhaal, me gusto mucho!! :)
    hasta prontito!

  • 24 Juni 2012 - 18:56

    Mariette Engels:

    Dag lieve Rebecca,
    wat een prachtig en ontroerend verslag heb je geschreven! Wat doe je werkelijk fantastisch werk met de oudere mensen! Ze móeten de warmte voelen die jij uitstraalt, evenals de liefde en het geduld waarmee je hen omringt. Geen wonder dat ze graag hebben dat voor hen tijd hebt!
    Waar gaat je volgende reis naartoe?
    En heb jij zelf vakantieplannen?
    lieve groet,
    mariette

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, 's-Gravenhage

Rebecca

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 2462
Totaal aantal bezoekers 46217

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Augustus 2015 - 26 Augustus 2016

On the road again

28 Juni 2011 - 02 December 2011

Central America, here I come

15 Oktober 2007 - 11 April 2008

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: